A Copy of God’s Thoughts Concerning You

Henry Scougal, in 1739, at age 26 (a year younger than I am now), wrote a book that has without fail deepened and broadened my love for God and for others whenever I thumb its pages. I’d like to share selected passages from it with you this week, both because they so tend to stir my own affections for God and because I hope that they will prompt you to read the book! These passages will prove to be more difficult reading than Lewis, for example, but will repay your efforts ten-fold. From The Life of God in the Soul of Man:

[The love of God, charity, purity, and humility] are the highest perfections that either men or angels are capable of – the very foundation of heaven laid in the soul – and he who hath attained them need not desire to pry into the hidden rolls of God’s decrees, or search the volumes of heaven to know what is determined about his everlasting condition, but he may find a copy of God’s thoughts concerning him written in his own breast. His love for God may give him assurance of God’s favor to him, and those beginnings of happiness which he feels in the conformity of the powers of his soul to the nature of God, and compliance with His will, are a sure pledge that his felicity1 shall be perfected and continued to all eternity. And it is not without reason that one said, ‘I had rather see the real impressions of a godlike nature upon my own soul, than have a vision from heaven, or angel sent to tell me that my name were enrolled in the book of life.’

1 felicity: “a state of great happiness”

One thought on “A Copy of God’s Thoughts Concerning You”

  1. This quote, “‘I had rather see the real impressions of a godlike nature upon my own soul, than have a vision from heaven, or angel sent to tell me that my name were enrolled in the book of life.” is fabulous! Any idea who Scougal was quoting?

Please contribute to a respectful, charitable conversation...

