He Leadeth Me

It’s good to think through how a Christian ought to make decisions, in light of the wisdom of the Scriptures and of God’s gift of reason. Still, my bedrock confidence in every decision I make – especially in those particularly weighty decisions (see Tuesday’s post) – is not in my ability to work faithfully through the criteria set forth in these last three posts. My confidence is based on my doctrine of providence and rests in a sovereign and good God, who governs all things and works all things for good for those who love him and are called according to his purpose (Rom. 8:28). A hymn to the God who faithfully leads us, by Joseph H. Gilmore (1862):

He Leadeth Me

He leadeth me, O bless’d thought!
O words with heavenly comfort fraught!
Whate’er I do, where’er I be
Still ’tis God’s hand that leadeth me.

Sometimes mid scenes of deepest gloom,
Sometimes where Eden’s bowers bloom,
By waters still, over troubled sea,
Still ’tis His hand that leadeth me.

Lord, I would place my hand in Thine,
Nor ever murmur nor repine;
Content, whatever lot I see,
Since ’tis my God that leadeth me.

And when my task on earth is done,
When by Thy grace the victory’s won,
E’en death’s cold wave I will not flee,
Since God through Jordan leadeth me.

2 thoughts on “He Leadeth Me”

  1. Vince, hopefully this post speaks to some of the things you raised in your comments yesterday. One of the things you said: “i wonder if one way to minimize the risk of make the wrong decision would be to simplify our lives” resonates deeply with me. I would really like to try to simplify my life, but the difficult part is figuring out what that looks like – especially when it comes to ministry and acts of mercy and kindness. How does that old saying go? Something like, “I expect to pass through this world but once. If there is any kindness or good thing that I might do, let me do it now, for will not pass this way again.”

    I do want to pack my life full of trying to do good for other people, but how fully should it be, exactly?

    I’m sure it would help to cut some unneccesary things from my life, but I can’t think of a whole lot of those, to tell you the truth…

  2. yes, i don’t claim to have any answers – they were just questions. i don’t know where i would cut back either. my statement was meant to be more general in nature – not specific to ministry. just something to think about.

Please contribute to a respectful, charitable conversation...

