The Necessity of Holiness (Part 4)

Before turning, next week, to consider Edwards’s applications of the doctrine of his sermon, “The Way of Holiness”: “Those only that are holy are in the way to heaven,” it may do us well to pause and marinate our hearts in this hymn by Charles Wesley:

Give Me A New, Perfect Heart

Give me a new, a perfect heart,
From doubt, and fear, and sorrow free;
The mind which was in Christ impart,
And let my spirit cleave to Thee.

O take this heart of stone away!
Thy sway it doth not, cannot own;
In me no longer let it stay;
O take away this heart of stone!

Cause me to walk in Christ my Way;
And I Thy statutes shall fulfill,
In every point Thy law obey,
And perfectly perform Thy will.

Within me Thy good Spirit place,
Spirit of health, and love, and power;
Plant in me Thy victorious grace,
And sin shall never enter more.

Now let me gain perfection’s height;
Now let me into nothing fall,
Be less than nothing in Thy sight,
And feel that Christ is all in all.

NB: Today’s photo was taken by my friend Benj Smith, from the North Kaibab trail, on our trek through the Grand Canyon.

3 thoughts on “The Necessity of Holiness (Part 4)”

  1. I don’t recognize this hymn, but it’s a good one! I’d love to know the melody…maybe I know it and just can’t recall it. These are words I needed to hear today…thanks!

  2. Thanks for the comments, Ninj. This hymn doesn’t get sung much, I presume, outside Wesleyan churches. This is mainly because Wesley meant something very specific and contrary to Reformed theology when he plead to God for “perfection.” But I have no issues with hijacking the beautiful words and taking them to mean something that he didn’t intend for them to mean!

Please contribute to a respectful, charitable conversation...

