The Old Testament Becomes New

ottheol.jpgDo you tend to read the last quarter of your Bible much more carefully and thoroughly than the first three quarters?

I certainly do.

This week I (finally) received my copy of Bruce Waltke’s recently released An Old Testament Theology, which has been heavily backordered by several book sellers. Last night I planned to spend 20-30 minutes browsing through it to see if I might want to use it next year to teach Old Testament theology to the Keystone men’s seminars I lead on Monday evenings.

I couldn’t put it down.

It is a remarkable work, and has already inspired me to dig deeply into an Old Testament canon, this year, that I have too frequently neglected because the New Testament documents seem more familiar; more relevant; more understandable, etc. I feel like I have just had a whole new treasure trove opened to me that was sitting right there in front of me the whole time. I’m about 150 pages in now (I was up until 2:00am reading it—seriously, I couldn’t put it down), and I cannot commend it highly enough.

To whet your appetite, here is Waltke’s answer to what is at the center of the Old Testament:

“…The center of the Old Testament, the message that accommodates all its themes, is that Israel’s sublime God, whose attributes hold in tension his holiness and mercy, glorifies himself by establishing his universal rule over his volitional creatures on earth through Jesus Christ and his covenant people. This in-breaking of God’s rule involves battling against spiritual adversaries in heavenly places and political, social, and religious powers on earth and destroying them in his righteous judgment while saving his elect. …To put it another way, the Bible is about God bringing glory to himself by restoring Paradise after humanity lost it through a loss of faith in God that led to rebellion against his rule” (OTT, 144).

One thought on “The Old Testament Becomes New”

  1. Glad to see you finally made it to the best part of the Bible! 😉 If you want any further reading recommendations, just let me know.

Please contribute to a respectful, charitable conversation...

