Help from Spurgeon

I was feeling a bit beat down this evening.

I came come from my evening of teaching a men’s seminar, fully convinced that I had done more to confuse than to clarify, concerned that I have not spent adequate time with my bride and son lately, worried that my doctoral term paper will not be completed in time, and disappointed that my weight has not fallen for yet another week (This week’s TWOB post is forthcoming). So, I sat down to read sermon from Charles Spurgeon and was refreshed by these words:

“Nothing will so enlarge the intellect, nothing so magnify the whole soul of man, as a devout, earnest, continued investigation of the great subject of the Deity. And, whilst humbling and expanding, this subject is eminently consolatory. Oh, there is, in contemplating Christ, a balm for every wound; in musing on the Father, there is a quietus for every grief; and in the influence of the Holy Ghost, there is a balsam for every sore. Would you lose your sorrows? Would you drown your cares? Then go, plunge yourself in the Godhead’s deepest sea; be lost in his immensity; and you shall come forth as from a couch of rest, refreshed and invigorated. I know nothing which can so comfort the soul; so calm the swelling billows of grief and sorrow; so speak peace in the winds of trial, as a devout musing upon the subject of the Godhead.” (From “The Immutability of God” in The New Park Street Pulpit)

20 thoughts on “Help from Spurgeon”

  1. I really enjoyed the class last night too.

    I have a major security audit this week that has just been eating me up.
    That time spent contemplating justification was a real refreshment.

    I could say, “After sitting through Bryan’s class, I got the best sleep I’ve had all week.” but that would come out wrong ๐Ÿ™‚

    –James

  2. I got a lot from Keystone this week as well. Deep stuff, but I thought you cleared a lot of it up.

    The Spurgeon quote is great and your suggestion Monday to read these books is a good one – sounds like you found some respite in those pages.

    Have you had a Q Day lately (or at least a family Q Day)? Not trying to shame you, just saying. https://twog.wordpress.com/2007/08/06/q-day/

  3. So are you waiting to post TWOB until you have something positive to show? If that’s the case, then I won’t send you another weigh-in until I too have something positive to show. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Sorry, no! I went right from finishing my term paper (due Wednesday) to writing my sermon for Saturday, and have not had time for much else. I’m planning on reporting for two consecutive weeks at this point, though.

  5. Besides, Darius, he wants to post about NEGATIVE things. The goal is still weight loss.

    Tiffany – not all of us had bad weeks. My weigh in on Monday showed a -1 for the week. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Well that opinion will change. Just stick around a while.

    BURN!

    What? I had to say it. Oh yeah right, like you weren’t thinking it.

  7. Jesse, I’m gonna have to call you out on this one…

    Does anyone actually still say “burn”? I’m pretty sure that went away with “mint” and “cool beans” at least ten years ago.

    That’s what you get for making fun of my hubby!

  8. Leslie’s right, cool people now say “BOX!”

    “TMI. Too much information. I used to say, “Don’t go there,” but that is so lame now. Or, “You go, girl.” Or… Um, when did “Where’s the beef?” That was, like, a long, long time ago. It’s funny how the shelf life of these things, like how long they last, like, “Too much information” probably came on the scene… I mean, I didn’t hear it till, like, this month, so it’s pretty recently. Um, but you know, they’re generally good for, like, no more than five or six years.” – Michael Scott

  9. I still say “BURN” but I don’t say it because I think its cool or anything, more because its so lamely funny. Particularly when its someone saying it on “That 70’s Show.” ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Leslie, I’m terribly sorry. I hope you can find it in you heart to forgive me. And then invite me to dinner so I can see your little baby boy. Owen too! !

    Thank you Tiffany. That was the reference I was going for. Ashton Kutcher would get so excited when would “burn” someone. And I think its still ok to say but I do say “mint” “sweet” AND “cool beans” usually cool beans gets a side of thumbs up.

    Darius, only KFAN says “box”.

Please contribute to a respectful, charitable conversation...

