A Prayer

mcinnis.jpgBryan McInnis posts a beautiful prayer today from The Valley of Vision on Searching for the Sound of Silence:

Lead me to the cross and show me his wounds,

the hateful nature of evel, the power of Satan;

May I there see my sins as

the nails that transfixed him,

the cords that bound him,

the thorns that tore him,

the sword that pierced him,

Help me to find in his death the reality of

and immensity of his love.

Open for me the wondrous volumes of truth

in his, ‘It is finished’.

Increase my faith in the clear knowledge of

atonement achieved, expiation completed,

satisfaction made, guilt done away,

my debt paid, my sins forgiven,

my person redeemed, my soul saved,

hell vanquished, heaven opened,

eternity made mine.

One thought on “A Prayer”

  1. I became so confused for a moment when I saw Bryan McInnis’s picture and for a split second thought I was reading his blog. You’re not allowed to do that to us simple minded folk.

Please contribute to a respectful, charitable conversation...

