The Deceitfulness of Riches

mr1This is mind-boggling to me:

“PHOENIX—Star slugger Manny Ramirez rejected yet another offer from the Los Angeles Dodgers. The Dodgers announced Thursday night the outfielder’s agent Scott Boras had declined a $25 million, one-year contract with a $20 million player option for 2010.”

Reportedly, Ramirez is still waiting for a team to make him a “serious offer.”

“…Give me neither poverty nor riches; feed me with the food that is needful for me, lest I be full and deny you and say, “Who is the Lord?” or lest I be poor and steal and profane the name of my God.” ~ Proverbs 30:8-9

4 thoughts on “The Deceitfulness of Riches”

  1. Rich snob. I agree.

    On the other hand, if he’s paying 42% or whatever in taxes then maybe we should thank him for stimulating the economy.

    Not.

  2. I believe it is against MLB rules, or any other major sports association for that matter, for the owners to converge against a player. But I think if they really wanted to send a message to the players they would all agree not to sign Manny.

    I know it is a big stretch and obviously will never happen because the owners are just as bad as the players when it comes to their share but I think it would be the perfect timing.

    Imagine it. If the owners said, “No! We are done paying these outrageous salaries. You work for us. We tell you what we will pay you. If you don’t like it then you won’t play. Period.”

    I know this isn’t exactly analogous but players like Manny could take a cue from Larry Fitzgerald III, and a handful of other guys, who said he would redo is contract to keep Anquan Boldin in Arizona.

Please contribute to a respectful, charitable conversation...

