Enjoying Our Heritage

daughter2.jpgJournal Entry from March 5, 2009

Yesterday Leslie and I found out that we are expecting a baby girl.  In a few short months I will be father to a son and daughter.  We couldn’t be more thrilled!  Another boy would have been great too, of course, but I’m really looking forward to dresses and long hair and father-daughter dates.  I’ve been trying not to think about her dating or giving her away at her wedding because I get pretty choked up.  And I haven’t even met her yet!  What a softy.

It’s very possible that I’ll be a horrible father because I’m pretty much a total sucker for cute little girls.  I don’t think I’ll be very good at saying, “No,” like I am with Owen.  I’ve been thinking about some lyrics from the Loudon Wainwright song, “Daughter”:

That’s my daughter in the water
every time she fell I caught her.
Every time she fell.
That’s my daughter in the water,
I lost every time I fought her.
Yeah, I lost every time
.”

Obviously, some ‘fatherly’ scriptures have been on my mind this morning:

Behold, children are a heritage from the Lord,
the fruit of the womb a reward.
Like arrows in the hand of a warrior
are the children of one’s youth.
Blessed is the man
who fills his quiver with them!
He shall not be put to shame
when he speaks with his enemies in the gate.
(Ps. 127:3-5)

Fathers, do not provoke your children to anger, but bring them up in the discipline and instruction of the Lord. (Eph. 6:4)

Father, I’m praying this morning that you would make me a good and faithful father, taking my cues from your goodness and faithfulness. Make me warm, loving, kind, gentle, tender, strong, and godly.  I praise you for your good and undeserved gifts to us.

5 thoughts on “Enjoying Our Heritage”

  1. Any child that is fortunate enough to have you as a dad and Leslie as a mom is very lucky. You will be an amazing dad just as you are with Owen.

  2. So my dad is AMAZING! And I am most definitely a Daddy’s girl. There is something so special about a father/daughter relationship that I just can’t explain. He would definitely fold at times because I am his little girl but he also knew what was best for me and when it really mattered was willing to unwrap himself from my finger and give me loving discipline.

    HA! My mom used to get so upset w/ him and my discipline. He would say to her how upset he was and what my punishment was going to be and then when it came to laying down the law face to face he just couldn’t do it. 🙂 Gosh I love him.

    You are a great daddy to Owen and will be amazing w/ your daughter. Have you thought of any names? I’m thinking APRIL sounds good.

  3. Remember when I had a dream that you and Leslie had a Daughter? 🙂 What can I say!!! CONGRATS!!!!! You’re gonna be a sucker for your lil girl PB!!!!

Please contribute to a respectful, charitable conversation...

