Read With Me This Summer

books1.png I have found again and again that I can learn a lot by reading good books, but I can learn far more by reading good books and then discussing those books with other people who’ve read them.

I’d love to have you read with me this summer and then get together here and there and discuss what we’ve read, or even e-mail about what we’ve read if you’re not in the area.  If you’re interested, here’s what I’m planning on reading in June (and likely part of July if I get bogged down).  Pick one (or all) of them and let me know if you want to grab lunch or coffee:

After You Believe: Why Christian Character Matters, by N.T. Wright

Wright is probably my favorite author right now. Not because I always agree with him. In fact one of the reasons I like him so much is that I agree with him enough to be hugely helped and encouraged by his thinking, and I disagree with him enough that it sparks me to think creatively and from new perspectives on worn-out issues. I suspect After You Believe will bring more of the same.  On the one hand: Haven’t we thought about how to live Christianly enough? On the other hand, I suspect Wright will make me think about it in fresh and thought-provoking ways.

To Change the World: The Irony, Tragedy & Possibility of Christianity in the Late Modern World, by James Davidson Hunter

Are Christians supposed to change the world? Are we supposed to engage with culture?  Should we expect to transform culture?  Or is this world going to Hell in a handbasket and therefore trying to improve anything is like polishing the brass on a sinking ship?  Hunter, a University of Virginia professor, promises to move past the worn-out and amazingly ineffective “vote for Christians and the world will become more Christian” model of world change, and to address these questions in fresh ways.

In Search of God and Guinness: A Biography of the Beer That Changed the World, by Stephen Mansfield

As the subtitle suggests, this book (and the story behind it) may be a good test case for Hunter’s book. Guinness was an incredibly impactful force for good in Europe and stands as one of the most powerful (if little known) testimonies to the amazing good that companies can do. I’d love to read this book with some business men, or anyone who want to think through how to use their work for good. And we should probably get together at a pub. Probably at Claddagh. I don’t think you can discuss a book about Guinness over a cup of coffee. That’s probably not allowed.

7 thoughts on “Read With Me This Summer”

  1. I ordered the Guiness book….I will read that with you this summer. Plus I toured the brewery in my early twenties, very cool!

  2. does a lady need to be a fusionite to be a fellow bookworm? english was my initial declared major, until theology kicked it’s butt and stole the spotlight.

    1. Hi Brianna!

      I’d love to get your take on one/some of these! Are you thinking about reading Wright?

  3. Started Guiness today….really good from the beginning. 10 million pints a day!!! most of those are consumed in Dublin for sure…I am only about twenty pages in so far but it is good. Pretty cool that all employees were granted two pints a day. I am thinking of instituting the same policy at my company, and since I am the only employee, I am going to love working there even more!!

  4. actually yes, i am. how did you guess? how was the greenbay marathon? how is tc marathon training going? my runs this training season have been incredible! but that’s easy when you live right on the minnehaha parkway…

Please contribute to a respectful, charitable conversation...

