Ouch

So… yes, I’m still behind on the day-to-day schedule. I intended to use the “free days” in July (25 readings in a 31-day month) to catch up, but it didn’t happen. Maybe this month? But then I missed another day yesterday. Woops. I’ll just have to do some two-a-day posts again soon. Regardless, here are the…

Daily Scripture readings for July, set #23:

Leviticus, chapters 21-23
Psalm 45
Matthew 20:17-34
Acts 27:27-44

Ouch. Leviticus 21:20. Ouch. I mean, why does that even have to be mentioned? Ouch.

Psalm 45:17 reminds me of why I, as a dad, need to prioritize proclaiming the greatness of the Lord to my kids. “I will cause your name to be remembered in all generations; therefore nations will praise you forever and ever.”

Matthew 20 contains an important statement from Jesus regarding heavenly rewards: “You will drink my cup, but to sit at my right hand and at my left is not mine to grant, but it is for those for whom it has been prepared by my Father” (vs 23). I’m viewing this verse as a description of heavenly reward, but I might be wrong there. Here’s what I mean: it seems like where someone sits in eternity revolves around one’s faithfulness in this life, but Jesus makes clear that these places of status are not the results of someone’s good actions. Instead they are decrees by God and part of his plan. Is it that I have misunderstood the idea of heavenly reward all along?

It’s remarkable to me how the Acts 27 shipwreck plays itself out. Not only does the centurion not kill Paul (because he likes him too much), but the guards are even taking orders from Paul regarding cutting the ships boats and eating food! Paul has been so faithful in following his Romans 12:17-18 advice that his captors genuinely love him.

Please contribute to a respectful, charitable conversation...

