Jesus’ Wisdom

Daily Scripture readings for August, set #4:

Numbers, chapters 7-8
Psalm 51
Matthew 22:15-33
Romans 3

Numbers 7 records Moses hearing the voice of God: “And when Moses went into the tent of meeting to speak with the Lord, he heard the voice speaking to him from above the mercy seat that was on the ark of the testimony, from between the two cherubim; and it spoke to him” (vs 89). “From the mercy seat”… God speaks to mankind from a posture of mercy.

Sheesh, Psalm 51 is a potent chapter! There are so many powerful and significant truths in this text. Here’s a short list of the ones that stand out to me: “Against you, you only, have I sinned…” (vs 4), “Behold, I was brought forth in iniquity, and in sin did my mother conceive me” (vs 5), “Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me” (vs 10), “The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit; a broken and contrite heart, O God, you will not despise” (vs 17).

The Pharisees/Sadducees’ attempts to outwit Jesus in Matthew 22 give two very clear examples of Jesus’ deep WISDOM. His answers to their trick questions leave them speechless and astonished. And, fortunately for us, it seems that his answers also hint at how to attain such wisdom: “But Jesus answered them, ‘You are wrong, because you know neither the Scriptures nor the power of God'” (vs 29). Oh that I would know the Scriptures and fear God, and both in deep enough measure, so as to serve the Kingdom with such wisdom!

It’s totally unfair that Romans 3 is a single-day reading, at least as far as taking notes is concerned. My notes section for today’s Romans reading is deeper than any other text so far. I’ll zero in on verse 20, as it acts as a segway to what is basically Paul’s summary of the entire Gospel in verses 21-26. “For by works of the law no human being will be justified in his sight, since through the law comes knowledge of sin” (vs 20). For real? God’s law, as opposed to being his expectation for my behavior, actually functions as a mirror by which I am able to see my own sin? Whoa. This concept was a complete shell-shock to me when I first heard it, and it’s a linchpin in understanding the difference between legalism and the true Gospel.

 

 

Please contribute to a respectful, charitable conversation...

