“Forgetting” The Lord’s Laws

Daily Scripture readings for November, set #11:

1 Kings, chapters 17-18
Psalm 119:81-88
Luke 4:1-13
Ephesians 5:22-33

The wording of 1 Kings 17:22 is interesting: “And the Lord listened to the voice of Elijah. And the life of the child came into him again, and he revived.” This wording is curious because of how Joshua 10:14 is worded: “There has been no day like it before or since, when the Lord obeyed the voice of a man.” Seems really close to contradiction.

Today’s section of Psalm 119 is all about perseverance/endurance in the face of trials. Verse 83 stands out to me: “For I have become like a wineskin in the smoke, yet I have not forgotten your statutes.” How easy it is to “forget” (either intentionally or inadvertently) God’s law when I am going through difficult circumstances.

“To you I will give all this authority and their glory, for it has been delivered to me, and I give it to whom I will” (Lk 4:6). Context alert: this is the Devil speaking here in vs 6. Is this a valid claim of authority from him, or another example of his aptitude for lying?

Paul’s exhortations for husbands in Ephesians 5 contain deep theological truth about what Christ has done for the Church. And yet, these descriptions are what Paul commands husbands to also do for their wives. “IN THE SAME WAY husbands should love their wives as their own bodies” (vs 28).

Daily Scripture readings for November, set #12:

1 Kings, chapters 19-20
Psalm 119:89-96
Luke 4:14-30
Ephesians 6:1-9

“Thus says the Lord, ‘Because the Syrians have said, “The Lord is a god of the hills but he is not a god of the valleys,” therefore I will give all this great multitude into your hand, and you shall know that I am the Lord'” (1Kings 20:28). Noteworthy lesson in this verse: it is a costly mistake to underestimate/undervalue the power of the Sovereign of the universe.

I share this sentiment with the Psalmist: “I will never forget your precepts, for by them you have given me life” (119:93). I share the sentiment, but the reality is that I still often forget not only the Lord’s precepts, but also they reality that they have given me my very life (see previous Psalm 119 reading). Lord, help me remember.

Jesus’ words in Luke 4:25-26 make his hearers very angry. “But in truth, I tell you, there were many widows in Israel in the days of Elijah, when the heavens were shut up three years and six months, and a great famine came over all the land, and Elijah was sent to none of them but only to Zarephath, in the land of Sidon, to a woman who was a widow.” It’s not difficult to see why the “unfairness” of what Jesus is teaching would make someone angry. Does it make you angry?

I will again take the opportunity to expose the blatant falsity of those who say that the Bible endorses/condones slavery. Ephesians 6 on slavery: “Bondservants (slaves), obey your earthly masters with fear and trembling, with a sincere heart, as you would Christ, not by the way of eye-service, as people-pleasers, but as bondservants of Christ, doing the will of God from the heart, rendering service with a good will as to the Lord and not to man, knowing that whatever good anyone does, this he will receive back from the Lord, whether he is a bondservant or is free. Masters, do the same to them, and stop your threatening, knowing that he who is both their Master and yours is in heaven, and that there is no partiality with him” (vs 5-9).

Please contribute to a respectful, charitable conversation...

