Kids vs Debt

Daily Scripture readings for December, set #5:

1 Chronicles, chapters 10-11
Psalm 128
Luke 8:16-25
Colossians 2:16-23

I’ve got a ton of big questions in my life right now… things that I need guidance for. This verse is really sobering all of sudden: “He (Saul)did not seek guidance from the Lord. Therefore the Lord put him to death and turned the kingdom over to David the son of Jesse” (1Chron 10:14).

Psalm 128 is obviously a description of how good it is to fear/serve the Lord. But in reading just now I notice especially that the description of “good” includes many kids and therefore grandkids as well (vs 3, vs 6). This gives me pause in my “family planning” and the “ideal number of kids” I’ve always pictured. I had a close friend and mentor once tell me this: “In the Bible, kids are a blessing and debt is a curse. We have it backwards in America.”

Lots of popular one-liners are found in Luke 8:16-25, but what stands out to me today is verse 17: “For nothing is hidden that will not be made manifest, nor is anything secret that will not be known and come to light.” I would be so bold as to say that the MAIN and PRIMARY tool in my own failure to resist temptation is the cloak of secrecy. Turns out, it is only a mirage.

The latter half of Colossians 2 is a section of Scripture that I reference often in both my thinking and my conversation. Especially verse 23: “These have indeed an appearance of wisdom in promoting self-made religion and asceticism and severity to the body, but they are of no value in stopping the indulgence of the flesh.” Implication: Victory over sin is not found merely in rules that you make for yourself.

Daily Scripture readings for December, set #6:

1 Chronicles, chapters 12-14
Psalm 129
Luke 8:26-39
Colossians 3:1-17

Again, regarding guidance, seeking the Lord: “And David inquired of God, ‘Shall I go up against the Philistines? Will you give them into my hand?’ And the Lord said to him, ‘Go up, and I will give them into your hand’” (1 Chron 14:10).

Notice that both things are true… affliction, but not ultimate defeat: “Greatly have they afflicted me from my youth, yet they have not prevailed against me” (Ps 129:2).

The task of the Christian: “Return to your home, and declare how much God has done for you” (Luke 8:39).

“In these you too once walked, when you were living in them. But now you must put them all away: anger, wrath, malice, slander, and obscene talk from your mouth” (Col 3:7-8). You used to be a certain way, and you must be that way no longer. The details on this are different for everyone.

Please contribute to a respectful, charitable conversation...

