Litmus Tests

Daily Scripture readings for April, set #9:

Ezekiel, chapters 24-26
Job 9:1-24
John 9:13-25
1 John 2:1-11

“So I spoke to the people in the morning, and at evening my wife died. And on the next morning I did as I was commanded” (Ezk 24:18). Ezekiel… a man of God faithful that upon losing his wife he simply did as he was commanded. No angry outbursts at the Lord, no questioning God’s sovereignty or goodness, just obedience.

“Though I am in the right, my own mouth would condemn me; though I am blameless, he would prove me perverse” (Job 9:20). Job is declaring God’s attributes and power in this chapter, though much of it strikes me as somewhat sarcastic or at the very least embittered. This verse especially. How would the Lord prove you  perverse if you were actually blameless, Job?

“This man is not from God, for he does not keep the Sabbath” (Jn 9:16). Keeping the Sabbath: an unhelpful litmus test.

“Whoever says he abides in him ought to walk in the same way in which he walked” (1Jn 2:6). Living like Jesus: a helpful litmus test.

Daily Scripture readings for April, set #10:

Ezekiel, chapters 27-28
Job 9:25-35
John 9:26-41
1 John 2:12-17

“Behold, I am against you, O Sidon, and I will manifest my glory in your midst. And they shall know that I am the Lord when I execute judgments in her and manifest my holiness in her; for I will send pestilence into her, and blood into her streets; and the slain shall fall in her midst, by the sword that is against her on every side. Then they will know that I am the Lord” (Ezk 28:22-23). The juxtaposition in these verses is CRAZY. The Lord is “against” Sidon, to “execute judgments” and “send pestilence” and “blood”… but will by the same actions “manifest glory” and “manifest holiness” and make himself known.

“For he is not a man, as I am, that I might answer him, that we should come to trial together. There is no arbiter between us, who might lay his hand on us both” (Job 9:32-33). Truth. The court of man cannot hold the Lord.

Boldness and wisdom and TRUTH on the lips of a man changed by Jesus: “We know that God does not listen to sinners, but if anyone is a worshiper of God and does his will, God listens to him. Never since the world began has it been heard that anyone opened the eyes of a man born blind. If this man were not from God, he could do nothing” (Jn 9:31-33). The subsequent reviling of the Christ-follower by those who trust in themselves: “‘You were born in utter sin, and would you teach us?’ And they cast him out” (vs 34).

“Do not love the world or the things in the world. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him” (1Jn 2:15). Challenge accepted.

Please contribute to a respectful, charitable conversation...

