A Life Well-Lived

ProverbsMay 25, 2014

My children, there could hardly be a more important book for you to read, understand, ponder and internalize than the book of Proverbs. You are going to discover soon enough that while there are many Christians, there are not many wise Christians. Most Christians believe that if you believe in Jesus, that is enough. And that is enough for salvation. But it is most certainly not enough for a life well-lived. A life well-lived requires insight, prudence, and understanding what is right and just and fair. It requires knowledge and discretion, learning, understanding, and wisdom. And Proverbs promises all of these to its students. I’m more convinced than ever that this book would have saved me from the vast majority of my self-inflicted wounds. I’m more convinced than ever that the more I internalize this book, the more fully, usefully, satisfyingly and joyfully I will live. Hear, my sons and daughter(s?), your father’s instruction.

One thought on “A Life Well-Lived”

  1. Good timing! Last week one of my daughters brought home a month-long Proverbs devotional that she wants us to do for family devotions for the month of June. This coming from the same daughter who single-handedly wrote our week-long Easter family devotion series. I pray that the sprouts of wisdom continue to grow in all of our children. Thanks for your encouraging post!

Please contribute to a respectful, charitable conversation...

